Webinar on “The Recently-Concluded Parliamentary Session: A Participant’s Observations”

In this webinar, YB Wong Shu Qi gave a review of the recently concluded parliamentary session of Malaysia’s new Perikatan Nasional government.


Monday, 14 September 2020 – The ISEAS – Yusof Ishak Institute organised a webinar with YB Wong Shu Qi as the guest speaker to share her observations about the July parliament session which concluded on 27 August. YB Wong comes from the Democratic Action Party (DAP) and represents the constituency Kluang in the federal parliament since 2018.  Prior to being elected as a Member of Parliament (MP), she was the state assemblywoman for Senai (2013 – 2018). She holds a Master’s degree from the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy.

YB Wong Shu Qi and Dr Lee Hwok Aun
YB Wong Shu Qi delivered her webinar from Sabah while Dr Lee Hwok Aun from the ISEAS – Yusof Ishak Institute (left) moderated the event. (Credit: ISEAS – Yusof Ishak Institute)

YB Wong opined that the ruling Perikatan Nasional (PN) administration tabled several controversial motions and bills during the July parliament session. One of the first motion tabled by the PN government involved the removal of Mohamad Ariff Md Yusof as speaker of the house, a highly unusual practice under the Westminster system. The motion was passed with a razor thin margin as 109 MPs from the opposition Pakatan Harapan (PH) – of which DAP is a component party – voted against the motion. Some of the other bills which attracted substantial debate and contention include the Temporary Measures For Government Financing COVID-19 Bill 2020, and the Supply (Reallocation of Appropriated Expenditure) Bill 2020.

During the question and answer session, the audience raised various topics including the selection of opposition MPs to helm Parliament Select Committee (PAC), formation of a PH shadow cabinet, and the upcoming Sabah state election. The webinar attracted 50 participants from Singapore and abroad.

50 participants attended the webinar. (Credit: ISEAS – Yusof Ishak Institute)