Banteay, Phnom Kulen

Project Information

A preliminary archaeological investigation was conducted at the Banteay site on Phnom Kulen between 26th of April – 8th of May 2014 as a joint cooperation project between what was then known as the Institute of Southeast Asian Studies (ISEAS) (now ISEAS – Yusof Ishak Institute) and the Autorite pour la protection du site et l’amenagement de la region d’Angkor (APSARA Authority (Authority for the Protection and Management of Angkor and the Region of Siem Reap)).

This initial phase of research involved a survey of the area and the excavation of six trench units. The research at the Banteay site was meant to try to locate habitation sites and to understand the structure of the terraces. The excavations revealed what may be a staircase accessway made from bricks, earthenware pottery sherds, and burnt clay features. Soil profiles from excavated trench units also revealed how compound’s terraces may have been constructed and reinforced differently from later periods. The results of the excavation was presented at the Technical Session of the International Coordinating Committee for the Safeguarding and Development of the Historic Site of Angkor (ICC-Angkor) meeting in 2015.


Technical Supervisors

H.E. Seung Kong (APSARA), H.E. Tan Boun Suy (APSARA), and Dr. Derek Heng (ISEAS)

Principal Investigators

Dr. Ea Darith (APSARA) and Mr. Lim Chen Sian (ISEAS)

Technical Staff

Mr. Cheang Sokuong (APSARA), Mr. San Renovann (APSARA), Mr. Sorn Chantharn (APSARA), Mr. Hem Mike (APSARA), Mr. Chhut Radet (APSARA), Ms. Foo Shu Tieng (ISEAS), Mr. Michael Ng Jian Cheng (ISEAS), Mr. Aaron Kao Jiun Feng (ISEAS)

Project Consultant

Dr. John Miksic (ISEAS)


Ms. Sok Chanthida, Ms. Suos Phalla, Mr. Thy Sereyvuth, and Mr. Sokha Panha

Cambodian Workers

Pa Lunh, Khern Tharm, Chham Charn, Heng Hour, Hor Phai, Aum Varn, Sot Sothea, Moeun Tou, Heng Sreyroth, Prun Nhes, Prun Nheay, Prun Saki, Sat Larm, Khoeun Sreyneth, Surn Seurm, Chin Chem, Sem Veit, Ry Pheap, Thy Savry, Lon Meng, Pheap Sophal, Chan Rotha, So Reach, Yoeun Sreydeng, Phat Phen, Hap Chhev, and Neng Lon.

Image gallery