DAY 2 – EU – Singapore Think Tank Dialogue 2021

EU – SINGAPORE THINK TANK DIALOGUE 2021
Strengthening Multilateralism: Opportunities for EU-Singapore Cooperation

About the Conference

The goal of the EU – Singapore Think Tank Dialogue 2021 is to explore the challenges and opportunities for cooperation between the European Union (EU) and Singapore to strengthen multilateralism. The Dialogue is co-organised by the ISEAS – Yusof Ishak Institute, Singapore (ISEAS), Institut Français des Relations Internationales (IFRI), and Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik (SWP)

For more information about the conference, click here.

Programme

Keynote Speech 2 — 2:00 – 2:30 PM SGT / 8:00 – 8:30 AM CET

 

Keynote Speech and Moderator

Mr Ignacio Garcia Bercero
Director in charge of Multilateral Affairs, Strategy and Economic Analysis at the Directorate General for Trade of the European Commission
Dr Francoise Nicolas
Director, Center for Asian Studies, IFRI

Panel 3 — 2:30 – 3:30 PM SGT / 8:30 – 9:30 AM CET
“Can the WTO Accommodate 21st Century Challenges? Perspectives from the EU, Singapore and ASEAN” examines how the World Trade Organization (WTO) should reform – from the EU’s, Singapore’s and ASEAN’s perspective – to reflect new trade and geo-political realities. It will explore how to restore a fully functioning WTO dispute settlement with a reformed Appellate Body and possibly find new paths for an innovative trade dispute settlement mechanism. It also seeks to assess the extent to which recent bilateral and regional trade agreements are WTO compliant and support the multilateral system.

Panel 3 Speakers and Moderator

Ms Iana Dreyer
Founder editor of Borderlex.eu
Dr Deborah Elms
Executive Director, Asian Trade Centre
Tan Sri Datuk Dr Rebecca Fatima Sta Maria
Executive Director, APEC Secretariat
Professor Tham Siew Yean
Visiting Senior Fellow, ISEAS – Yusof Ishak Institute

Coffee/Tea Break — 3:30 – 3:40 PM SGT/ 9:30 – 9:40AM CET

Panel 4 — 3:40 – 4:40 PM SGT / 9:40-10:40 AM CET
“New Vision for Multilateral Development Banks – an outlook from the EU, Singapore and ASEAN perspective” will trace the evolution of multilateral development banks (MDBs) and similar institutions with the view to evaluating how their roles and influence have changed over time. It will also assess the extent to which these institutions complement and compete with each other. It will also reflect on the challenges of a renewed momentum for MDB reforms from the perspective of ASEAN-EU cooperation.

Panel 4 Speakers and Moderator

Professor Pierre Jacquet
President of the Global Development Network
Dr Jayant Menon
Visiting Senior Fellow, ISEAS – Yusof Ishak Institute
Dr Thomas Mirow
Former President of the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development
Dr Eric J. Ballbach
Visiting Fellow / Korea Foundation Fellow, Asia Research Division, SWP

Closing Remarks — 4:40 – 4:45 PM SGT / 10:40 – 10:45 AM CET

 

Registration

This two-day Dialogue will be delivered online entirely. You can join the Dialogue at the specified date and time using devices (computer, phone, or tablet) with internet connection.

Click to receive your unique link for joining the following webinars.
Limited spaces only, register early to avoid disappointment.

Day 2 – Click here to register

You can also register for Day 1 here.

Install the Zoom client onto your computer or download the app on your mobile device.

If you have questions for the speakers, please key in your questions via the Q&A, stating your name and affiliation. The moderator will field them to the speakers during the Q&A session.

Date

May 12 2021

Time

GMT+8
2:00 pm - 4:45 pm

Location

Webinar