DAY 1 – EU – Singapore Think Tank Dialogue 2021

EU – SINGAPORE THINK TANK DIALOGUE 2021
Strengthening Multilateralism: Opportunities for EU-Singapore Cooperation

About the Conference

The goal of the EU – Singapore Think Tank Dialogue 2021 is to explore the challenges and opportunities for cooperation between the European Union (EU) and Singapore to strengthen multilateralism. The Dialogue is co-organised by the ISEAS – Yusof Ishak Institute, Singapore (ISEAS), Institut Français des Relations Internationales (IFRI), and Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik (SWP)

For more information about the conference, click here.

Programme

Opening Remarks — 2:00-2:10 PM SGT / 8:00-8:10 AM CET

 

H.E. Ambassador Barbara Plinkert
Ambassador of the EU to Singapore
Mr Choi Shing Kwok
Director and CEO of ISEAS – Yusof Ishak Institute

Keynote Speech 1 — 2:10 – 2:40 PM SGT / 8:10 – 8:40 AM CET

Keynote Speech

H.E. Ambassador Vanu Gopala Menon
Singapore’s High Commissioner to Malaysia

Moderator

Dr Malcolm Cook
Visiting Senior Fellow, ISEAS – Yusof Ishak Institute

Panel 1 — 2:40 – 3:40 PM SGT/ 8:40 – 9:40 AM CET
“Understanding Multilateralism and opportunities for EU, Singapore and ASEAN collaboration” dwells on the concepts and definitions of multilateralism. It addresses the need to survey the various competing definitions and ideas of multilateralism to foster mutual understanding. This is a necessary first step towards exploring opportunities and limitations for multilateral cooperation between the EU, Singapore and other ASEAN member states.

 

Panel 1 Speakers and Moderator

Professor Hanns Maull
Senior Distinguished Fellow, SWP
H.E. Ambassador Lawrence Anderson
Director, Communications Department, Asia-Europe Foundation
H.E. Dr Marty Natalegawa
Former Foreign Minister of Indonesia
Mr John Seaman
Research Fellow, Center for Asian Studies, IFRI

 

Coffee/Tea Break — 3:40 – 3:50 PM SGT/ 9:40 – 9:50 AM CET

Panel 2 — 3:50 – 4:50 PM SGT / 9:50 – 10:50 AM CET
“New Ambitions for the United Nations and the role of the EU, Singapore and ASEAN” focuses on some of the key challenges currently facing the United Nations (UN). It explores the various avenues for cooperation between the EU and Singapore and other ASEAN member states in improving and reforming the UN system.

Panel 2 Speakers and Moderator

Dr Judith Vorrath
Senior Associate, SWP
Professor K.S. Jomo
Senior Advisor, Khazanah Research Institute
Dr Reuben Wong
Academic Director of Global Relations Office, Associate Professor at the Department of Political Science &
Resident Fellow at the College of Alice & Peter, National University of Singapore
Dr Felix Heiduk
Senior Associate, Asia Research Division, SWP

 

Day 1 Session

Tuesday, 11 May 2021
2.00 pm – 4.50 pm (Singapore time) / 8.00 am – 10.50 am (Central European Time)

Register here.

Registration

This two-day Dialogue will be delivered online entirely. You can join the Dialogue at the specified date and time using devices (computer, phone, or tablet) with internet connection.

Click to receive your unique link for joining the following webinars.
Limited spaces only, register early to avoid disappointment.

Day 1 – Click here to register

You can also register for Day 2 here.

Install the Zoom client onto your computer or download the app on your mobile device.

If you have questions for the speakers, please key in your questions via the Q&A, stating your name and affiliation. The moderator will field them to the speakers during the Q&A session.

Date

May 11 2021

Time

GMT+8
2:00 pm - 4:50 pm

Location

Webinar